Exeter Arms
Exeter Arms

A purpose-built pub, erected around 1816, in Regency style, at about the same time as the rest of the area. The pub took its name from the Earl of Essex whose home, Exeter House, stood nearby. The house was demolished, in 1854.

Due to an unfortunate error, the sign illustrates the arms of the City of Exeter.  It remained a free house with brewing on the premises until 1970, the last inn to do so. The snug contains a charming old-range fireplace.


On the corner of Exeter Street and Derwent Street. After crossing Exeter Bridge, take the righthand fork and continue to the end of the street where the pub is located.